Adapters for lenses

Discussion in 'Bags, Tripods, and Accessories' started by Sheila Diggs, Jul 27, 2024.

1. Sheila Diggs

Sheila Diggs New Member

Equipment:
    Canon Eos Rebel T5
    Hi, I am new to this site and hope I am in the right section. I had an opportunity to purchase several lens which are not Canon Digital lens. I am not an expert on lens so I don't know the correct terminology for the type of lens mount. But these do not have the electronic contacts on the back. Instead they have levers(?). I have purchased a couple of adapters and they seem to work fine with these lenses.

My question is: Is there a universal adapter which should fit most (if not all) of these "lever" style lens so they could be used with my Canon EOS Rebel T5 camera? I am not a professional photographer. I love my Rebel T5, though. It has taken amazing photos for what I want.

I hope I have made some sense with this. Thanks for any helps or ideas.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Hello and welcome to the canon forums Sheila!

I moved this to the accessories thread since its about adapters for lenses. As you found there are definitely options to mount lenses that are from other mounts to your camera. Unfortunately you will not find something to be a universal answer.

From mount a physical connection each mount can have a completely different mount shape especially across different brands,, in fact some use a screw threading on older lenses. The lever locations can be different even. As well as electronics on newer lenses ones wont talk from a canon to a Nikon mount for example even if it could be connected.
    Here is a canon FD lens if you compare to a Nikon or a Pentax they physically will be different.
    upload_2024-7-28_10-6-49.png