Canon 2000d poor image quality

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by oneillkf, Mar 16, 2024.

1. oneillkf

oneillkf New Member

Equipment:
    Canon 2000d
    Hi all and thanks. Hate to start with a gripe but I recently bought my son his first dslr a Canon 2000d with the standard kit lens 18-55 IS. I ran some test shots with it expecting it to be clearly better than my aged Nikon d300. I was just a little shocked to see really really poor images! I did side by side exposures and the Canon was clearly inferior. I have done a deep dive into the settings but only achieved a marginal improvement. So, my concern is that the camera is defective. Any thoughts etc would be appreciated. I am an experienced photographer with both digital and film so understand the technical details very well so I’m well aware that that’s not the issue here. For a supposedly 24MP sensor the image is really soft and blurry in comparison to the Nikon 12MP. Many thanks

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    There is a lot to unpack here but i suspect the largest difference would be your lens.
    1. i am not sure exactly which 18-55 you have but kit lenses have some very average glass/image quality.
    2 Your D300 was a sports car of a camera in its day for 2008, 51 focus points was insane for that time, your much newer 2000d is a basic intro level rebel with only 9 focus points. Comparing these cameras on just megapixels is not remotely fair, pixels only allow you to print large.

Your D300 would be more similar to buying a r5 of 5d mark4..... if looking for a modern canon. That said I suspect you had some sharp glass on that Nikon because they would not put a cheap consumer lens on a $2k body.

oneillkf likes this.
  3. oneillkf

oneillkf New Member

Equipment:
    Canon 2000d