Canon camera for figure skating

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Mikael Bauer, Nov 21, 2023.

1. Mikael Bauer

Mikael Bauer New Member

Equipment:
    Canon Rebel T7
    Dear all,
    I am a beginner, and I am mainly taking pictures for our figure skating club. The pictures turn out ok but I am wondering how to do better.
    My camera is the Canon Rebel T7, sens is EF-S 5.6 mm f/4-55 IS STM

I used 1/400 and ISO 1600. Pics are ok, but I am of course not using an ideal camera for it...If I would go for an upgrade, what would you suggest?

2. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,
    not so much the camera but the lens, try getting a lens thats got a brighter aperture like ƒ2.8 or ƒ1.4 etc, if you want a zoom with auto focus you probably looking at an ƒ2.8 like the sigma 17-50mm ƒ2.8 OS EX,
    the sigma 18-35mm art is an ƒ1.8 but no IS but its a fair bit brighter

other way to go is to see if you are happy to use a prime lens and get a faster one there, you'll be able to tell from using the current lens what framing (focal size in mm you like / need)

3. Mikael Bauer

Mikael Bauer New Member

Equipment:
    Canon Rebel T7
    Thanks; will the camera be able to handle such an aperture?

4. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Camera will handle whatever lens you put on it that is made for that mount.