EOS 70D - Can't achieve good look in camera.

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Jayson Dallson, May 13, 2024.

1. Jayson Dallson

Jayson Dallson New Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS 70D
    I would really appreciate some insight because I've become very frustrated after days of trying to self-help my way through this. I feel like I know everything and nothing at the same time. This is for filming video, not taking still photos.

While I understand 1:1 color accuracy is difficult to achieve, I can't achieve a look that isn't uncanny and off-putting to me. I'm very new to photography / cameras but will try my best to explain what I think looks wrong. (I set up a reliable mirror directly beside my feedback monitor to ensure that I'm not just thinking 'how i should' look and instead can compare exact lighting / positions from real-life to capture.)

- Skin tone just looks bad. I think this is the main issue, as I have to try and balance everything around this. It's always too blown out by a single color, typically white. My skin looks weirdly pale and single-toned. The natural color, qualities / red-tones, and shadows of my skin do not come through at all on camera - white balancing attempts just feels like layering an orange filter on top of the image rather than something that actually changes particular tones to allow for a varied and natural looking skin tone.