EOS Rebel T6 - view image number while taking picture?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Craniac, Aug 20, 2020.

1. Craniac

Craniac New Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T6, EFS 55-250 lens
    Hi there,
    I am pretty brand new to this project camera, and using it for photo ID of humpback whales. I would like to be able to see the image number as I am shooting, so that I can make a voice note (on a separate recorder) of which group of whales the photos belong to. I don't have a GPS attachment, so taking notes while putting in markers on my GPS while trying to keep track and photograph animals that surface without warning and only for a few moments...seems to be impossible when there are a lot of whales in all directions. The camera screen only shows the number of shots remaining before the card fills up, not the image number. When you press the image playback button the image number is displayed, but when I don't have time to do that between shots it becomes a problem. Thanks very much in advance for any help. IMG_2629 copy.jpg

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    The playback is the only way I can think of to see the image number, its been like that showing full screen images for any digital i have used. The thing working in your favor is that they numbers are sequential so you can use playback when you have a second to double check but otherwise you will need to count your shots from the last number you referenced. Which I am sure you already thought. There may be a way to see it on the phone if you tie your camera in with the phone app, honestly I have no idea as i never used it.

Craniac likes this.
  3. Isac

Isac Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II / SX-50
    Canons-10 - 300mm
    Tamrons-17-400mm
    Sigmas-18-500