Err 01 - Communication problem between lens and camera

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Marie Lemerle, Nov 6, 2023.

1. Marie Lemerle

Marie Lemerle New Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS 800D
    Sigma 150-600mm Contemporary
    Good evening,

I am having some problems with my equipment and I hope that you can help me figure this out.

I have a Canon EOS 800D, that I have been using a lot for about 5 years.
    I also use the lens Sigma 150-600mm contemporary, I had this one for almost 2 years.

I have used this body and this lens together for almost two years now, with no problem. A few weeks ago, I had the Err 01 for the first time "Communications between the camera and lens is faulty. Clean the lens contact". My sensors are very clean and I even took my equipment to a camera shop for proper cleaning but it did not fix the issue.

The weird thing is that my body works perfectly with other lenses, and that my lens works perfectly with other Canon bodies. So I am not sure where the problem comes from.

If I use my equipment with different bodies/lenses for a while, then they work together again for a little while until I get the error again. Now the error is showing more and more often, to the point where I can not use it anymore.

I don't know if that could be a reason, but I use my camera for work all day long on the beach. I protect it as much as possible, but it is exposed to the elements (heat, cold, humidity and salt).

I was wondering if it could be a firmware issue. But because my body and lens have been working together nicely for the last two years, I am a bit afraid of doing an update. What do you think?
    Do you think that this problem can be solved?

Thank you for your help.
    Marie

2. Ray-UK

Ray-UK Active Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    Canon 7D Mk II, Canon 10-22, Canon 24-105 L Mk 1, Canon 24mm 2.8, Canon 55-250 STM, Canon 100mm usm macro, 3x Metz 58 AF1 & too many film cameras, mainly Pentax