m50 disappointment & solutions

Discussion in 'Canon EOS M Series' started by ali, Jul 9, 2023.

1. ali

ali New Member

Equipment:
    m50 kit lens, viltrox adapter, 50mm canon, tamron 16-300 zoom lens
    Hi all,

I use a m50 which i got for shooting videos and pics. I have been using a viltrox adapter with the canon 50mm (nifty 50) and a tamon 16-300 for more reach. I have been very disappointed with the results.
    - m50/viltrox/50mm lens - my videos are marred by the awful sound of the autofocus shifting. Low light results are awful and grainy. I have managed some decent pics with this setup, but video is awful.
    - m50/viltrox/tamron 16-300 - both video/pics awful and unusable.
    I am a newbie and still using auto settings on the m50 for most work.

How can I get better results from my setup? I use sony vegas for editing and results are worse than my gopro 8/9! This is very disappointing from a canon mirrorless camera.
    What do i need to alter in my setup? I have seen youtube cinematic videos from the m50 with kit lens and 50mm that are superb so i know it is capable of much better.
    Should i get a better lens adapter ?
    Should I scrap the adaptor and get a sigma 16mm f/1.4 dc dn for my m50?

please advise
    Ali

2. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,
    i have the M50 mk1, had it 3 3/4 years now and picture wise its excellent, video wise its also excellent, but i do very little video myself,
    for sure using auto mode in low light is going to give poor results with a slower lens like the tamron 16-300mm